• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Google +
  • RSS

South East Europe Transport Observatory (SEETO) - Articles and news items

Positive progress for railways in the Western Balkans

Issue 3 2016 / 25 May 2016 /

Nedim Begović, Transport Planning Manager at the South East Europe Transport Observatory (SEETO) writes about the latest investments of the Core Regional Transport Network, underlining that although the last three years have seen a positive trend towards rail infrastructure investment, a lot more is still needed to increase the competitiveness of railways in the Western Balkans…

Delivering change to South East Europe

Railway Extra, Z Homepage promo / 7 April 2016 /

Ahead of his article in European Railway Review Issue 3 2016, Nedim Begovic – Transport Planning Manager at the South East Europe Transport Observatory (SEETO) provides a quick overview here of the latest developments of the Core Regional Transport Network MoU…

Raising the profile of the SEETO Comprehensive Rail Network

Issue 1 2012 / 6 February 2012 /

The European Commission’s proposal on new TEN-T guidelines adopted on 19 October 2011 was welcomed by the Regional Participants, since it includes important achievement of South East European regional cooperation. For the first time, the SEETO (South East Europe Transport Observatory) Comprehensive Network was included in the TEN-T Comprehensive Network maps, which was characterised as one step further towards complete harmonisation with the TEN-T Comprehensive Network and fortification of the SEETO Comprehensive Network’s position of precursor of TEN-T Comprehensive Network in the South East Europe.

The SEETO Comprehensive Network is a one layer multimodal network which provides high level regional interconnections and connections of the Western Balkan with the EU (TEN-T). In its present form, the SEETO Comprehensive Network consists of 6,554km of roads, 4,807km of rails, 17 airports, four rivers, eight inland waterway ports and 10 seaports.

The regional transport network defined in the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for the Development of the Core Regional Transport Network was established by seven South East European Regional Participants and the European Commission in order to ensure stability and economic prosperity of South East Europe.